Is Dental Work Covered by Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Pennsylvania?

up close of dental clinic chairs and tools
February 24, 2020

Injuries can be incredibly painful, regardless of what it is or where it is sustained. When injuries happen in the workplace, employee suffering can be covered by their employers through workers’ compensation. This is the case even in the event of oral injuries. If a person receives such an injury due to a workplace accident, it can lead to doctor visits and surgeries that can keep them out of work for some time. When facing these situations, it is important to retain the services of an experienced Pennsylvania workplace accident attorney for assistance ensuring your damages are covered.

What is Workers’ Compensation?

Most Pennsylvania employers must have workers’ compensation insurance in case employees become injured on the job. Injured employees who are unable to return to work often wonder how they will provide for themselves or their family on top of affording the expenses related to their injuries. Under workers’ compensation law, employees are unable to lose their job if they cannot come back because of the injury. This insurance provides certain benefits to help employees while they recover, such as payments for lost wages, medical care, specific loss benefits, and death benefits.

Is Compensation Available for Dental Injuries?

The state of Pennsylvania offers workers’ compensation as coverage for employees who suffer from dental injuries in a workplace accident. This is payable to employees who miss work for any surgeries, doctors’ appointments, or a recovery period. They may also receive wage loss benefits if they have any scars or disfigurement.

Types of Dental Injuries

There are different types of dental injuries that are covered by workers’ compensation, including:

  • Losing a tooth
  • Loose teeth
  • A chipped or breaking tooth
  • A broken jaw
  • Tooth intrusion
  • Temporomandibular joint disorders (TMJ)

How to Get Compensation

After sustaining an injury at work, it is important to report it to the employer immediately. This allows the process of obtaining compensation to begin. In Pennsylvania, an employee has 120 days to report a workplace injury. Once this is done, they should seek medical attention immediately to treat and document the injuries. The employer should then file a First Report Injury so the employee can file a claim with the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry and the Workers’ Compensation Bureau. The employer must also report the injury to the insurance carrier, who has 21 days to accept or deny the claim.

Contact our Firm

If you or a loved one has been in a personal injury accident in Pennsylvania, it’s important that you contact an experienced Philadelphia personal injury attorney to help you with your case and to make sure that you are not taken advantage of. Contact Spear Greenfield to get the right attorney in your corner.